Memorial Day: A Day to Remember.

img_4683.jpg

When we woke the next morning, the whole room smelled of the beach. Your skin was still soaked from the sun and my lips felt cool against the heat of your shoulder.  My tongue could taste every wave you didn’t catch because your arms were too busy holding me instead. Sleepy smiles and closed eyes, sun drunk from the day before. Swimming in these sheets as if we were still weightless in the water, high on happiness and fresh air. Remembering yesterday, when the sand in your beard and sun screen on your nose matched my knotted hair and bee sting perfectly.  We got lost on the ride home, but the detour was beautiful.  From the passenger seat, I watched as you found the right roads and I remember thinking: You make it so goddamn easy to love this much. To want to give this much. To want to pour myself into you until I’m soaked into your skin as well. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

